Celebrating the Leverhulme Programme

16th June 2011 Blackett Laboratory, Physics Department Lecture Theatre 2 (LT2, level 1)

Programme

9:20 – 9:30 9:30 – 10:30 10:30 – 11:00	Welcome and introduction Ortwin Hess (Physics, CMTH) <i>Title TBA</i> Rupert Oulton (Physics, EXSS) <i>Controlling light-matter</i> <i>interactions with metamterials</i>
11:00 – 11:30	Coffee break, outside LT2
11:30 – 12:00	Ekaterina Shamonina (Electrical Engineering) <i>Proxiton-</i> <i>polaritons - hybrid modes in metamaterials with inter-</i> <i>element coupling</i>
12:00 – 12:30	Yannick Sonnefraud (Physics, EXSS) Loss mitigation in plasmonic cavities and devices
12:30 – 13:00	Martin McCall (Physics, CMTH) Transforming Optics Through Covariance
13:00 – 14:30	Lunch break (self catered)
14:30 – 15:30	Stefan Maier (Physics, EXSS) <i>Nanoplasmonics – from the S&I Award to the Leverhulme Project</i>
15:30 – 16:00	Mike Wiltshire (Physics, CMTH & MRI unit, Imaging Science Dpt.) <i>Non-Linear and Chiral Metamaterials</i>
16:00 – 16:30	Coffee break, outside LT2
16:30 – 17:00 17:00 – 17:30	Richard Syms (Electrical Engineering) <i>RF Metamaterials</i> John Pendry (Physics, CMTH) <i>Structure and Function:</i> <i>metamaterials and transformation optics</i>
17:30	Reception, room B1004, Blackett building





The Leverhulme Trust